Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Boards at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Governing bodies and representatives of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Academic self-government

Governing bodies’ dates | Elections | Governing Bodies’ Office | Overview of appointments procedure

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin is a administrative body of the university and, at the same time, acts on behalf of the State of Berlin as set out at section 2 (4) (2) of the Berlin Higher Education Act (BerlHG).

The Board of Trustees is responsible among other things for resolving the budget plan as the highest university instance, enacting the structural development plan, establishing, modifying and dissolving faculties and central institutions, establishing and cancelling courses, appointing professors, enacting fee regulations and proposing appointments to presidential offices. The areas of activity of the Board of Trustees are governed by section 3 of the HU constitution.

The Board of Trustees consists of nine voting members. The member of the Berlin Senate responsible for universities and the President of the university sit on the board by virtue of their office. The remaining members are elected by the Academic Senate.

Academic Council

The Academic Council is the highest governing body of the university. Upon the proposal of the Board of Trustees, it elects the members of the President’s office, takes decisions affecting the Constitution and election regulations and discusses the annual report from the President’s office. The areas of activity of the Academic Council are governed in section 8 of the HU constitution.

The Academic Council consists of 61 members: the members of the University Senate plus 18 university instructors and 6 academic staff, 6 other staff and 6 students. The term of office is 2 years.

University Senate

The University Senate (AS) deals with decisions that affect the ‘daily business’ of the university. It takes current decisions on the direction and orientation of the university. The areas of activity of the University Senate are governed by section 5 of the Constitution. Among other things, it is responsible for resolutions on the structural development plan and draft budget, for establishing, modifying and dissolving faculties and central institutions, enacting regulations, approving and appointing professors, establishing courses and appointment matters, as well as awarding honorary titles.

The University Senate is made up of 25 members: 13 university instructors and 4 academic staff, 4 other staff and 4 students. The term of office is 2 years.


Medical Senate

Election Board

The Central Election Board is responsible for the election of the central collegial bodies (Academic Council and University Senate), the university members on the Board of Trustees in accordance with section 64 BerlHG, the President’s office and the committee for electing the full-time Women’s Representative and her deputies. The Election regulations of HU (HUWO) govern the organisation and conduct of elections. Two members of each member group pursuant to section 45 (1) BerlHG sit on the Central Election Board. The term of office is 2 years.

Other central bodies

Staff councils